Nov 2019


Ed Sherman (2008-2012):Field theoretic RG (Thesis, publications (2))
Seng Cheang (2009-2014):Synchronisation (Thesis, publications [37])
Gary Willis (with A Parry, 2011-2015):Wetting and the Manna Model (Thesis, publications [42], [52])
Christopher Rochester (with A Kornyshev, 2012-2016):Electrolytes in pores (Thesis, publications [34], [43], [48], [50])
Nanxin Wei (2014-2020):Field theory in SOC and networks (publications [49], [60], [61])
Saoirse Amarteifio (2014-2019):Emergent constraints (Thesis, publications [58], [69], [61])
Ignacio Bordeu Weldt (with H Jensen and S Habib, 2015-2019):Pattern formation (Thesis, publications [57], [63], [66], [61])
Johannes Pausch (with A Parry, 2015-2019):Wetting and microtubule growth (Thesis, publications [56], [59], [64], (2))
David Nesbitt (with C F Lee, 2015-2019):Active media (Thesis, publications [53] [68])
Benjamin Walter (2016-2020):First passage times (Thesis, publications [56], [67], [61], (3))
Rosalba Garcia Millan (2016-2020):SOC, reaction-diffusion in cells, field theory (Thesis, publications [54], [56], [61], [64], [65], [71], (2))
Gcina Maziya (with N Moloney, 2017-):Random exploration of space (publications [62])
Luca Cocconi (with G Salbreux, 2018-):Morphogenesis (publications [62], [65], (4))
Ziluo Zhang (Jan 2019-Jan 2023):Field theory on general graphs (publications (1))
Zigan Zhen (Oct 2019-May 2023):Entropy production, relation to information and large deviations in active matter (publications [65])
Marius Bothe (Oct 2019-):Field theory of Levy walks and Levy flights (publications [70])
Letian Chen (Oct 2020-):Discrete time field theory
Connor Roberts (Oct 2020-):Field theory of active matter
Jacob Knight (Oct 2021-):Entropy production of non-Markovian processes

MSci and MSc

Seng Cheang (2007/2008):Edwards-Wilkinson equation with von Neumann boundary condition and drift term [30]
Daniel Walker (2008/2009):Self organised branching process
Katy Rubin (2009/2010):Ornstein-Uhlenbeck process with absorbing wall [35]
Jules Morand (2010, MSc with Prof. K. Christensen):Predictability in Oslo Rice-pile model
Giner Baldo (2012, final year project):The Manna Model with surface diffusion
Aman Pujara (2013/2014, final year project):Scaling of the number of distinct sites visited by a branching random walker
Stefan Nekovar (2013/2014, final year project):Field theory of the Wiener Sausage [44]
Simone Cenci (2015, final year project, with Dr C F Lee):The stationary state of the contact process
Dmitry Veselov (2015-2018 Applied MSc project):The Manna Model with finite and long-range interaction
David Nesbitt (2015, MSc/PhD, with Dr C F Lee): Active fluid mechanics: Actomyosin networks and tissue regeneration [53]
Benjamin Walter (2016, project, with G Salbreux): T1 transition frequency in tissue formation
Brandon Annesi (2016, final year project): Field theory for run and tumble
Kenneth Yiu (2016/2017, final year project): Entropy production in Doi-Peliti field theories
Mir Faruk (2016, final year project): Exact RG applied to the critical Casimir effect
Anne-Mieke Reijne (2017, Erasmus student, U Amsterdam, final year project): Statistical mechanics approach to root morphology [57]
Abdulrahim Al Balushi (2017, final year project, with I Bordeu-Weldt): Diffusion on quenched-random meshes
Ziluo Zhang (2017, final year project, with R Garcia-Milan): Matsubara sums
Luca Cocconi (2017/2018, final year project, with B Walter): Exact RG applied to non-equilibrium systems
Adam Collins (2018/2019, MSci, with L Cocconi): Scaling of the critical colonisation rate in the contact process
Letian Chen (2019/2020, MSci): Correlations in the Manna Model
Konstantinos Ntagiantas (2020, MSc project): Loop extrusion
Silke Nodwell (2020/2021, MSci project): Transport in porous media
Farid Kaveh (2021/2022, MSc project): Path probabilities in non-Markovian processes
Paula Garcia Galindo (2021, MSc project): Building alpha coli
Alice Xinyue Fan (2021/2022, MSci project): Axon guidance
Yiqing Ian (2021/2022, MSci project): Stationary state of two coupled Markov processes
Asees Sachdev (2021/2022, MSci project): Instantaneous velocity of a Ornstein-Uhlenbeck particle
James Hryb (2022/2023, MSci project): Diffusion on cuved surfaces
Dana Weetman (2022/2023, MSci project): Stationary states
Callum Britton (2022/2023, MSci project): Field theory of chiral active matter
Kaili Zhu (2022/2023, MSci project): Field theory of the Vicsek Model

Student Prizes

Stefania Calabretta, Riva Desai, Kim Mroz, Cong Zhang Winton Capital Prize 2009 (2nd year project)
James Hefford UROP prize for Hawking Radiation in Doi-Peliti Field Theories
Rosalba Garcia-Millan Doris Chen PhD Merit Award
Bianca Buturca UROP prize for Entropy production in stochastic processes [65]
Benjamin Walter Yael Dowker Prize (2021)
Lili Fehertoi-Nagy and Evelyn Wang UROP Prize (2021) for Field Theory of Games
Alex Roskill UROP Prize (2022) for Field Theory of E Coli


Summer 2022

Alex Roskill (with Connor Roberts)

Summer 2021

Lili Fehertoi-Nagy, Evelyn Wang (with Letian Chen and Connor Roberts)
Talia Rahall (with Johannes Pausch)

Summer 2019

Bianca Buturca (with L Cocconi and R Garcia Millan)
Yiqiu Zhang (with L Cocconi)
Emre Ozer (with I Bordeu)

Summer 2018

Umut Özer (with R Garcia Millan)